You are here

Program Committees

2021-2022 Committee Members

Executive Committee: The Physiological Sciences Program is administered by an Executive Committee that consists of members who represent the major areas of Physiological Sciences.  These members include the Chair of the Program, the Chairs of the standing committees, one at-large member and one student representative. The Executive Committee is responsible for administering the graduate program in Physiological Sciences.

  • John Konhilas, PS GIDP Chair
  • E. Fiona Bailey, Program Committee
  • Dawn Coletta, Teaching Committee
  • Frank Duca, Recruiting Committee
  • Chris Banek, Activities Committee
  • Sean Limesand, Member at Large
  • Stephanie Bruggink, PhD Student Representative

Recruiting Committee: Responsible for publicizing the Program, recruiting, evaluating applicants, and recommending admission of qualified candidates to the Executive Committee.

  • Frank Duca, Chair of Committee
  • Heddwen Brooks
  • Erika Eggers
  • Jennifer Stern
  • Jennifer Teske
  • Claudia Stanescu, Ad hoc
  • Hallie Wachsmuth, PhD Student
  • Savanna Weninger, PhD Student
  • Yassin Hamzaoui, MS Student
  • Ann Thomas, MS Student

Program Committee: Responsible for curriculum and course development, evaluation of graduate student progress, maintenance of the Graduate Handbook (which states the policies and procedures for graduate education), and mediation of the concerns and grievances of graduate students.  Graduate students are encouraged to consult with any member of the Program Committee to resolve any issue related to their graduate education that is of concern. 

  • Interim Chair TBA (contact Dr. Konhilas for comprehensive exam and program matters)
  • E. Fiona Bailey, Chair of Committee (on sabbatical)
  • Shaowen Bao
  • Lalitha Madhavan
  • Paulo Pires
  • Christina Hoyer-Kimura, PhD Student
  • Kyra Herman, MS Student

Activities Committee: Has the charge of promoting social and professional interdisciplinary activities among the participants (graduate students, postdocs, and faculty) of the Physiological Sciences Program.

  • Chris Banek, Chair of Committee
  • TBA
  • Madeline Gauthier, PhD Student
  • Keila Espinoza, MS Student

Teaching Committee: is responsible for assigning teaching responsibilities to all students who have completed their first year and for insuring that all students receive an evaluation of their teaching abilities both from the students they teach and from a faculty member.

  • Dawn Coletta, Chair of Committee
  • Claudia Stanescu, Physiology TA Coordinator
  • Eric Price, Ad Hoc, Physiology TA Coordinator
  • Jade Blackwell, PhD Student
  • Thomas Whitmore, MS Student

Student Forum: Professional skills development held every two weeks, which is co-administered by the students and faculty, to foster an interactive environment for the dissemination of program research. Students present research progress every year in the program and receive detailed feedback on how to improve their presentation skills

  • Paulo Pires, Faculty Feedback Liaison
  • Jen Stern, Faculty Feedback Liaison
  • Fall Student MC's
  • Garrett Crosby, PhD Student
  • Sara Djurich, PhD Student
  • Spring Student MC's
  • Fiona Wong, PhD Student
  • Kat Kennedy, PhD Student
Last updated 3 Jan 2022